Reminding Ourselves Using the Internet

Technology has come a long way and streamlined the society.

We can pretty much do anything with the Internet. You don’t feel like reaching in your backpack to grab your calculator? You can do that on your computer (WolframAlpha is a great site for any computation). Don’t feel like flipping through large newspaper? You can opt to click through the pages using your computer. And of course, for boys, it’s a great source to tap their curiosity.

But honestly, I see many people squandering the great resource we are so fortunate to have, to vicariously communicate with one another. People are always on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, etc. A study shows that, on average people log on their Facebook at least 9 times a day (I don’t remember where I got this source from). NINE FREAKING TIMES! That is ridiculous. And what is more disturbing is that, I failed to quit Facebook after deactivating it for almost a year (To my defense, I needed it for some of the clubs/classes at school), and fortunately, I am not too caught up with other social media.

This is not to say that the internet is an impediment to our culture; I am merely pointing out that many of us misuse the great tool we are endowed with. There are many great websites that can help us widen our perspectives and improve our social skills. I personally see social network such as Facebook as a great hindrance. People are so used to texting and chatting, that it naturally becomes awkward for them to communicate face to face. Every time we pick up our phone to text or to socialize on Facebook, we are practically eating “the fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden (Genesis 3:3)” – We become different persons behind our computer! (Genesis 3:10).

Image

There are many great sites that we can use to remind ourselves of who we are, and here are some of my favorites:

1. Youtube – I hear people say, “Oh my goodness, I waste so much time on Youtube!” I never understood how people can be so attached to their seats while they aimlessly search for funny videos on Youtube. But that is not all it has to offer. You can search so many inspirational videos on Youtube that can motivate us.

2. Ted – I’ve heard that the website does not post certain videos if it does not agree with the speaker, but it still has plethora of inspirational videos. It makes you ask, “what the hell was I thinking the whole time?” Some videos can be a bit lengthy, but it sure is a great website to visit before you go to sleep or when you open your eyes in the morning.

3. MSN – I realized that many websites that assay to inform the audience of what is going on in the world are biased towards either political party, but if I am not mistaking, MSN does not fall under that group. It is a great source to keep yourself informed about what is going on around you, and it does not hurt to be informed as much as you hate the government.

4. WordPress – Geez, where do I start? I started using WordPress about 3-4 weeks ago, and in that short span of time, I have met MANY inspirational writers. If you start to lose faith in humanity, WordPress can resurrect hope in mankind. You just need to know where your interests lie and share your thoughts with other readers. You will be surprised to find many writers who think like you and can encourage you.

I am very certain that there are many websites that can have a positive impact on our lives, and I would love to visit some. So please suggest any websites that encourage in the comments below! Also, I do not dislike Facebook users at all. I possibly can’t. After all, there are over a billion Facebook users out there. That would make me a misanthrope. I am very far from that.

PS: I wanted to add a picture of the sites’ logo next to their names, but I just felt wrong about it… I felt like I was violating some sort of policy. It’s just inexplicable. Also I realize that the only picture I posted is inappropriate, so please let me know if I need to take it down. Thank you

2 thoughts on “Reminding Ourselves Using the Internet

  1. Your post reminds me that what we post is out there for all the world to see. It will come to know our thoughts, our personality, our hopes, our fears, our insecurities, our strengths, a lot of our action or our inaction….whatever we choose to share.

    • Yes! that is very true!
      Needless to say, I am very inspired by your work and informative posts! I learn a lot from a different perspective on just reading and writing, and I enjoy it so much. Please keep writing!

Leave a Reply

