Gone With The Wind

No, not the movie Gone With The Wind.

** NO spoiler

Hayao Miyazaki, one of the most revered movie directors/writers, has announced his retirement after his last piece, TheWind Rises. I have been a huge fan of his after watching Spirited Away, My Neighbor Totoro, Howl’s Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke, and many more, and I have always wanted to watch his film in a theater. I was studying at the library, and my friend asked me to watch his LAST film, The Wind Rises. I honestly had no idea that he would make his retirement after the film, so I went to watch it at a movie theater. And the movie did not disappoint.

Unlike some of his previous movies, The Wind Rises seemed to have profound morals that could be interpreted in many ways. That’s what I really liked about the movie. In a way, the movie set the same tone as Toy Story 3 did. Toy Story 3 came out when I graduated high school, so it meant a lot to me. The movie helped me realize that I can’t defy age. I remember my friends telling me that they cried when they watched Toy Story 3… because they, too, had to let go of their past to move on to college.

In a similar manner, The Wind Rises helped me understand the meaning of working towards my dream. I hate spoilers and I hate spoiling for others, so I won’t go into details with the movie, but I just want to say that the movie was very inspirational. I will definitely miss his works, and I highly recommend people to watch the film, and check out his other films.

 

Leave a Reply

