Seeing My Future in Them

If you could go travel time to when you were younger, what advice would you give yourself?

Hindsight is 20/20, so it is definitely more convincing to listen to your “future” self to be most efficient or happy with life.

When my friend asked me the question, I gave him a mundane response. An answer I anticipate many would say: “Read more, don’t find easier ways, but learn through challenges, and just have more fun”.

I honestly do regret a lot for not reading when I was younger, and what upsets me more is that my parents always told me to read, but I just didn’t want to.

I know this sounds obvious, but it just never came to my realization that the things my parents’ told me to do when I was younger, are exactly the same advices I would give my younger self. My parents were my “future” beings who knew what I would regret later in life. Sadly, I have come to an age when my parents do not really tell me what I need/should do, because they trust that I will make the best decision for myself.

Seriously… my parents used to tell me that it is a lot harder to study when you get old, because materials don’t stick around your memory too long. Back then, I thought they were just saying that because they wanted to scare me so I could study then, but I feel like I am slowly reaching that point.

My point is that your parents will never tell you something that will harm or deter you. You just have to understand that their life experiences are the same as the ones you will experience, except they have experienced them ahead of time to tell you the best way to maneuver about it.

2 thoughts on “Seeing My Future in Them

Leave a Reply

